I’ve been rock climbing (in a gym) since I’ve been here, in Charlottesville, VA for a National Radio Astronomy Observatory internship. The levels range from 0 to 10. When I first started, I could do most of the level 0s, but none of the level 1s. I have a more fit body type, so there were others who could barely do any climbs in there on day one. We go every 3 or 4 days, and at the end of each day, I set a new goal for next time. Something I know that if my hands weren’t sore and raw from the day’s climbs, I could accomplish. Always of the level that I worked on that day, never higher. All the climbs are available to us at day 1. You can try a level 7 climb if you want to, but you’re a fool if you’re struggling with level 3 and 4 (like me). They usually have a minimum skill level barrier to entry, so you can’t even start the climb if you’re not strong enough to lift your body weight, balance properly, or understand the physics of climbing. You’re only burning out your hands. There is more experience in watching someone more experienced do the climb, then maybe coming at it with fresh hands the next day. I’ve attempted level 4s, 5s, and 6s, but I usually just end up failing.

Maybe more importantly, if you get frustrated at a climb that you keep failing, but know you can complete and try to rush through it, you only fall harder because your focus isn’t on the fundamentals you learned to get you to a level 4 climb. lol I’m using my experiences as a metaphor for small businesses, or even life in general. There’s no need to rush. Take what you can from each experience and let your business grow naturally. You have to constantly push yourself, obviously, but know your limits. Everything has a breaking point.

It’s important to note that life does not cap at level 10. You’re no longer growing if you believe you have reached perfection. If you are not growing, then you are decaying.

Conversely, everything has a breaking point, but being afraid of falling is worse than never

Jumping.

This is what it means to be Jump.

Thoughts? Feelings? Reactions? I'd love to hear your opinion!

